Permission for Rest

I’ve said it before and I’ll probably say it again.  I’m not good at resting.  My mind prefers to work and ticking off the boxes on my to-do list can seem to be the ultimate satisfying goal.  But my to-do list easily becomes my idol and expectations (usually self imposed) become more important than walking daily with Jesus.  Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 9.08.06 AM.pngI’m still trying to figure out what this means practically for me.  Finding that balance between productivity and trusting in the ultimate care of my gracious savior.  Struggling against the lie in my head that tells me I’m lazy or unworthy, when I know that I am a beloved child of God.  Coming to a place where rest is not guilt inducing but instead sweet and rejuvenating.

Please pray with me and know you’re not alone if you also struggle to find peace and rest.  Know that you’re not alone if a call to create margin in your life induces anxiety and worry.  Know that we were not created to bear the burden and weight of the world on our own shoulders.

Jesus said in Matthew 11:28-30, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

2 thoughts on “Permission for Rest

  1. your matthew 11:28-30 is the verse that CBS used over and over. carolyn’s suggestions are great. I have learned to take time (sometimes it is more than I should) but it does ground me to be quiet, even in small amounts, on a daily basis. praying for you, mom

    Like

  2. My dear sister in Christ, I so relate to this prayer, + will certainly add it to my daily prayer for you. I know that people who are driven are created that way, but I also know driven people who recognize Jesus as Lord + Savior can seek His help in channeling/balancing that drive. Your recognition of this, especially this early in your life journey, is huge. Your transparency + outreach for prayer support is also huge.
    One practical suggestion is to literally schedule “rest” into your to-do list. 30 minutes praise music on the couch, or walking by the river. 30 minutes reading a fun book or taking a power nap or being by myself. Whatever “rest” translates to you.
    Psalm 139:14 NLT “Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous- how well I know it. ”
    Understanding (+ accepting) how wonderfully complex + uniquely designed you are for God’s glory is a lifelong pursuit. Embrace it fully. Love + prayer, Auntie Carolyn

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

